SUI TOKYO

SUI TOKYO - Japanese elegance and know-how

SUI TOKYO is a contemporary makeup brush house that follows the ancestral heritage of Kumano calligraphy brush art. Founded by Tomomi Ariga, the descendant of a prestigious family of master craftsmen, this line embodies Japanese elegance and craftsmanship.

SUI TOKYO

Calligraphy brushes since 1882

The family business opened its workshop in 1882 in the city of Kumano and has been making its handmade brushes with the utmost respect for traditional craftsmanship.

It is known for its contribution to the development of Japanese culture. Firstly, by supplying calligraphy brushes to famous Japanese artists such as the poet Mitsuo Aida and the painter Shikou Munakata. Later, by distributing brushes to school children during the occupation of the country to preserve education and transmission.





The makeup brushes

SUI TOKYO makeup brushes pay homage to the elegance of Japanese calligraphy brushes and are handcrafted in the family’s workshop using the same artisanal processes.

The master craftsman assembles the hairs one by one on the long wooden handle to create the specific shape of each brush without ever carving them. Thus, the cuticles of the natural hairs remain intact, their exquisite softness persists over the years and the brush adheres perfectly with the powders.



14 products
€156,00
€65,00
€43,00
€46,00
€46,00
€46,00

SUI TOKYO

SUI TOKYO - l’élégance et le savoir-faire japonais

SUI TOKYO est une maison de pinceau de maquillage contemporaine qui s’inscrit dans l’héritage ancestral de l’art du pinceau de calligraphie de Kumano. Fondée par Tomomi Ariga, la descendante d’une famille prestigieuse de maîtres artisans, cette ligne incarne l’élégance et le savoir-faire japonais.

SUI TOKYO

Le pinceau de calligraphie depuis 1882

L’entreprise familiale a ouvert son atelier en 1882 dans la ville de Kumano et y fabrique ses pinceaux à la main dans le plus grand respect de la tradition artisanale.

Elle est connue pour avoir contribué au développement de la culture japonaise. D’abord en fournissant des pinceaux de calligraphie à de célèbres artistes nippons tels que le poète Mitsuo Aida et le peintre Shikou Munakata. Plus tard, en distribuant des pinceaux aux écoliers durant l’occupation du pays pour préserver l’éducation et la transmission.





Les pinceaux de maquillage

Les pinceaux de maquillage SUI TOKYO rendent hommage à l’élégance des pinceaux de calligraphie japonais et sont conçus à la main dans l’atelier familial de Kumano selon les mêmes procédés artisanaux.

Le maître artisan assemble les poils un à un sur le long manche en bois afin de créer la forme spécifique de chaque pinceau sans jamais les tailler. Ainsi, les cuticules des poils naturels restent intactes, leur douceur exquise perdure au fil des années et le pinceau adhère parfaitement avec les poudres.



14 products