ASAHIYAKI

ASAHIYAKI - Japanese ceramic house

ASAHIYAKI is one of the oldest ceramic houses in Japan. Established along the Uji River in Kyoto Prefecture for over four hundred years, 16 generations of kiln-masters have succeeded each other in passing on and enriching the family heritage of this manual skill.

ASAHIYAKI

The Uji River - cradle of Japanese tea culture

Source of inexhaustible water for tea plant cultivation and clay for the manufacture of ceramic objects, the Uji RIver has made the eponymous region the cradle of Japanese tea culture.

Uji clay

ASAHIYAKI clay, mined from the Uji River, is stored for half a century before use. Thus, each generation of craftsmen works with a material that was mined by their ancestors, and the clay mined today will be used by future generations. This poetic process enhances the natural properties of the clay and its low level of heat conductivity, ideal for the manufacture of tea utensils.

Uji kilns

ASAHIYAKI’s unique aesthetic is largely derived from the kiln-process. The first ASAHIYAKI kiln, built in the 16th century,

is to be found among the Seven Enshu Kilns, a list of the best Japanese pottery kilns created by Kobori Enshu, the Japanese tea ceremony master.

Since then, new kilns have been built, each of them giving to the clay various variations in color and texture, while preserving the characteristic marbled effect of the house.

Uji tea culture

Over the centuries and cultural changes, the house mainly focused on bowls for tea ceremony (matcha) in concert with the tea masters of the Uji area, has diversified. Teapots, cups and yuzamashi were born with the advent of Sencha and Guyguro in the region during the Edo period. Today, Master Yusuke Matsubayashio continues his ancestors’ master-craftsmanship legacy and continues to celebrate the tea-tasting experience with contemporary appeal.

7 products
€500,00
€48,00
€48,00

ASAHIYAKI

ASAHIYAKI - maison de céramique japonaise

La maison ASAHIYAKI est une des plus vieilles maisons de céramique du Japon. Installée le long de la rivière d’Uji dans la préfecture de Kyoto depuis quatre cents ans, ce sont 16 générations d’artisans qui se sont succédées pour transmettre et enrichir l'héritage familial de ce savoir-faire manuel.

ASAHIYAKI

La rivière Uji - berceau de la culture japonaise du thé

Source d’eau inépuisable pour la culture des théiers et d’argile pour la fabrication d’objets en céramique, la rivière Uji à fait de la région éponyme le berceau de la culture japonaise du thé.

L’argile d’Uji

L’argile ASAHIYAKI, extraite de la rivière Uji, est conservée un demi-siècle avant d’être utilisée. Ainsi, chaque génération d’artisan travaille une matière qui a été extraite par ses ancêtres et en extrait en retour pour les générations futures. Ce procédé, empreint d’une dimension poétique, accroît les propriétés naturelles de l’argile et son faible niveau de conductivité thermique, idéales pour la fabrication d’articles de thé.

Les fours d’Uji

L'esthétique unique d'ASAHIYAKI est largement dérivée du processus de four. Le premier four ASAHIYAKI, construit au XVIe siècle, 

figure sur la liste des Septs Fours Enshu, une liste des meilleurs fours à céramique japonais établie par Kobori Enshu, le maître japonais de la cérémonie du thé. 

Depuis, de nouveaux fours ont été construits, chacun offrant à l’argile diverse variations de couleur et de texture tout en conservant l’effet marbré caractéristique de la maison. 

La culture du Thé d’Uji

Au fil des siècles et des changements culturels, la maison, qui produisait principalement des bols pour la cérémonie du thé (matcha) de concert avec les maîtres du thé de la région d’Uji, s’est diversifiée. Les théières, tasses et yuzamashi ont vu le jour avec l'avènement du Sencha et du Gyokuro dans la région, à l’époque d’Edo. Aujourd’hui, Maître Yusuke Matsubayashio perpétue l'héritage du savoir-faire de ses ancêtres et continue de célébrer l'expérience de la dégustation de thé avec un attrait contemporain.

7 products
€48,00